BOMBSHELL Radio PodcastsLove Your Indie

Lynchian – Room to Dream

Play episode
Hosted by
Bombshell

Today’s Bombshell (Bombshell Radio) Bombshell Radio Lynchland – David Lynch Archivist
11am-12pm EST
5pm-6pm CEST
4pm-5pm BST
bombshellradio.com

Repeats 2am-3am EST

#davidlynch #lynchian #lynchland #bombshellradio #rock #blues #folk #jazz #soul

David Lynch and Kristine McKennaís ìRoom to Dreamî was released a few days ago and, from its very first pages to the end, it was a captivating read about a life unlike any other. This book is also a treat for music lovers: everybody knows how important music and sound have been in David Lynchís art, and his autobiography offers a glimpse into a very peculiar time of Americaís pop culture, when blues, folk, jazz, and the early days of TV and rock íní roll would shape young peopleís mind and aspirations. As you will have understood, weíve made this mix based on some of the most significant songs mentioned in ìRoom to Dreamî; our image is based on Arthur Irving Gates’ book “Good Times on Our Street”, which apparently made an impression on David’s mind when he was a kid.

01 Four Aces – Three Coins in a Fountain
02 Elvis Presley – Love Me Tender (Ed Sullivan Show, 09/09/1956)
03 Fred Steiner – Perry Mason Opening Theme
04 The Dave Brubeck Quartet – Blue Round a la Turk
05 Cyril J. Mockridge – “The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance” Main Title
06 Bob Dylan – Blowin’ in the Wind
07 The Beatles – I Want to Hold Your Hand (Live in Washington D.C., 02/11/1964)
08 Janis Joplin – Ball and Chain (Live from Monterey Pop)
09 Jimi Hendrix – Wild Thing (Live from Monterey Pop)
10 Otis Redding – I’ve Been Loving You Too Long (Live from Monterey Pop)
11 Vladimir Horowitz – Beethoven’s Sonata Op.27 no.2 ‘Moonlight’ – Allegretto
12 Captain Beefheart – Orange Claw Hammer
13 The J. Geils Band – Pack Fair and Square
14 Robert Johnson – Cross Road Blues
15 This Mortal Coil – Song to the Siren

 

More from this show

Menu

Subscribe

Lynchland